vibe coding isn't the flex you think it is

yap, dev, ai

vibe coding isn't the flex you think it is

okay so "vibe coding" is everywhere right now and i'm kinda losing my mind. everyone and their dog is posting about how they built a saas in a weekend without writing a single line of code, just vibing with cursor or claude or whatever. cool. but there's a massive difference between using ai as a tool and just... not knowing what your code does. and i feel like nobody wants to talk about that.

it's like working in a team

here's how i think about it. ai is basically a teammate. a really fast one that knows a ton of stuff and can crank out boilerplate like crazy. but also one that makes mistakes, sometimes very confidently, and has no idea what the rest of your project looks like. you wouldn't just merge every PR your teammate opens without reading it right? same thing. you still gotta review it, test it, actually understand what just got added. that's just how it works.

where it gets me is people treating "i didn't write a single line" like it's something to brag about. bro that just means you have no idea how your own project works. that's not productivity that's just vibing your way into a codebase you can't debug lol

the huntarr thing

if you need a real example of why this matters, look at what just happened with huntarr in the selfhosted community. someone did a basic security audit on it and found 21 critical/high severity issues. we're talking full auth bypass on api endpoints, anyone on the network could just grab your sonarr and radarr api keys without even logging in. the kind of stuff you catch in a five minute code review.

and the commit history? exactly what you'd expect. hundreds of commits called "update" or "patch", dozens of files changed at once, no review process, just raw prompting and pushing. the maintainer apparently claimed to work in cybersecurity btw. repo and subreddit got taken down after the findings went public. people had been running this on their homelabs trusting it with credentials for their whole media stack. not great.

the thing is you genuinely can't catch that if you don't know what bad auth looks like. the ai will produce something that looks fine and you'll ship it and your users pay the price. that's the actual danger of full vibe coding, not just messy code.

ai is good actually (when you use it right)

i use ai for coding constantly and it's genuinely great. it speeds up the boring stuff, helps me with syntax i forget, gets me unstuck when i'm going in circles. that's just good tooling. same as using a framework or stackoverflow, it saves time as long as you actually understand what it's doing for you.

the people getting the most out of it aren't the ones letting it drive the whole thing. they're the ones who already know how to code and use ai to go faster. they read what gets generated. they test it. they fix the bugs. they know when it's confidently producing garbage.

coding isn't dead lol

the "coding is dead just prompt bro" crowd really needs to touch grass. ai can't design your architecture, it can't understand your users, it definitely can't debug the weird edge case that shows up at 2am. it makes mistakes constantly and without someone who actually knows what's going on those mistakes just stack up until something explodes.

use the tools. go faster. just don't outsource your brain in the process :P